University of Minnesota Morris


UMM Home > Faculty Center > Development Committee > 03-04 Minutes > 2/3/04


Faculty Development Committee

Minutes for February 3, 2004
4 PM Faculty Center
East Annex

Present: Greg Thorson (Chair), Bert Ahern, David Hoppe, Carol Marxen, and Derrek Brunsberg.
Absent: Siobhan Bremer

The meeting began at 10:00 AM with the discussion of meeting times for the Spring Semester. The following meeting schedule has been set for spring semester; it will be distributed to all committee members.

Friday, February 13 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Friday, February 27 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Friday, March 19 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Monday, April 5 3:30 PM- 4:30 PM
Monday, April 19 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Brunsberg announced to the committee that Jamie Gremmels has resigned from the committee and that a replacement is being sought.

Ahern announced that he will be resigning as Director of the Faculty Center at the end of the year, and said that a search committee is needed. He said that the FDC has served as the search committee in the past, he will meet with Dean Schwaller and suggest that a search committee be appointed. Ahern said that he looks for the announcement to go out next week, and hopefully the new Faculty Center Director would be selected by the end of March. Ahern noted that the new director would be in charge of the Fall Faculty Retreat this year, and that he hopes the new person could be on board by April.

The FDC Minutes dated 12/2/03 were unanimously approved as amended.

Faculty Affairs Committee
Thorson and Ahern will meet with the Social Sciences, Science and Math, and Education Divisions on February 11-12th to discuss the proposed amendment to the UMM Constitution for the Creation of a Faculty Affairs Committee. Ahern noted that no meeting has been scheduled with the Humanities Division at this time. Thorson said that he offered to meet separately with Schuman and Schwaller to see what the general response of the administration is. Thorson said the Executive committee asked that they meet with the MASA (Morris Academic Staff Association) to hear their concerns. The largest concern of the MASA was a sense of creating a new constitutional membership category by using the terms "academic professionals" rather than academic staff. Members recognized that the definition of faculty in the UMM constitution includes academic staff and agreed to replace the term "academic professionals" with "academic staff." The committee also agreed to delete clause D under powers and responsibilities as being beyond the scope of a campus committee. With these in Section 1 and Section 2, the Committee agreed to move forward with the proposal.

Faculty Enrichment Program
Ahern said there are 6 teams in the Faculty Enrichment Program this year. Revisions will be made to the FEP application 04-05 and sent out after the next FDC meeting. Ahern noted that the Bush Grant is in the final year, and said that question #3 on the application would be eliminated due to the fact that the Bush IT Mentorship project will no longer exist.

Thorson said that the Fall Faculty Retreat survey would be revised for the next meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 11:00 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda Pederson