University of Minnesota Morris


UMM Home >Faculty Center > Development Committee > 06-07 Minutes > 03/26/07


Minutes of March 26, 2007 , 4:30 PM
Faculty Center , East Annex



Cyrus Bina (Chair), Edith Borchardt, Jong-Min Kim, Carol Marxen, Sara Mattison, and Engin Sungur (Ex-officio).

FDC Minutes 02/26/07
Bina called the meeting to order and asked for any corrections, revisions, and/or approval of the FDC minutes, dated 02/26/07 . Borchardt proposed minor editorial corrections to the minutes. A motion to approve the minutes as corrected unanimously carried.

Bina introduced and welcomed Sara Mattison, the new student representative, to the Committee; she will serve on the FDC for the remainder of the academic year.

The 2007 Fall Faculty Retreat
Sungur reported that during the past few years there has been a semi-continuous planning committee for the Fall Retreats; but we can certainly include fresh faces, depending on the selected topics at hand. Sungur reported that he receive ten proposals for the FFR so far; members reviewed the list and discussed FFR planning committee members. The Committee then, by consensus, approved the FFR planning committee as proposed. Bert Ahern, Pareena Lawrence, Leslie Meek, Dave Roberts, Jeffrey Ratliff-Crain, Tom Turner, and Pam Solvie will be contacted to serve on the FCLT planning committee. Bina proposed that Troy Goodnough should also be contacted as he is interested to conduct a session on “sustainability” at the retreat.

Faculty Surveys
Sungur reported the Quality of Life and Faculty Opinion of Administration Surveys are ready for distribution. He confirmed that this year the surveys would be administered in April (same as last year) only electronically, thus allowing for the comparison of the results from last year. After discussion—although, upon request—hard copies also can be provided by regular mail.

New Business

1. Faculty Enrichment Award

Sungur reported that the FCLT has received six applications for the Faculty Enrichment support, but there the funding is available for only five. Sungur then reviewed the applications with the FDC, noting that one applicant has already received support through the Faculty Enrichment Program. The FDC agreed that 5 first-time applicants should have priority over those who received funding in the past; and depending on the availability of additional funds, the sixth applicant should be supported. Bina proposed to award the FEP 2007-2008 to Sheri Breen (Political Science), Martin Seggelke (Music), Patrick Shorb (History), Jinzhu Gao (Computer Science) and Hsing-Wen Hu (Education), and consider the past recipient, Kristen Lamberty (Computer Science), if additional funds become available. The motion ( Borchardt/Marxen) was carried with four yes (and one abstention).

2. Thursday Afternoon Faculty Seminars 2007-2008 (TAFS)

Sungur has received nine applications for the Thursday Afternoon Faculty Seminars for the upcoming academic year. He is planning to schedule a “website database” for this activity. Bina expressed enthusiasm and support for this seminar series. Motion by (Marxen/Borchardt) to approve the TAFS seminar for the 2007-2008 academic year; it was carried unanimously.

Sungur also proposed to invite an emeritus professor to present a ‘special event' at TAFS series; the FDC concurred with the idea unanimously. Sungur suggested Professor Emeritus Eric Klinger for the 2007-2008. Bina nominated Eric Klinger to give the ‘special event' TAFS 2007-2008 seminar. Motion: (Marxen/Borchardt) carried unanimously. Sungur will contact Professor Klinger.

Meeting Date
The final meeting of the academic year will be on April 30, 2007 at 4:30 PM at the Faculty Center.

A motion to adjourn (Borchardt/Kim); the meeting concluded at 4:59 PM.

Submitted by:
Linda Pederson