University of Minnesota Morris


UMM Home > FCLT Activities > Opening The Door: Sharing The Craft of Teaching at UMM > Invitation to the Academy of Distinguished Teachers

"Opening the Door: Sharing the Craft of Teaching," 4-6:30 p.m., April 1, in Oyate Hall

Dear Colleagues,

Please join us on April 1 for a mini-conference on teaching excellence at UMM. Entitled "Opening the Door: Sharing the Craft of Teaching," this promises to be a rewarding event. VCAA John "Fritz" Schwaller will open the activity with some words on the topic, "'We are Loaned to One Another:'Collegial Support in the Academic Endeavor." After recognizing some exceptional practitioners, we will turn to a discussion of teaching tips drawn from the experience of 28 UMM faculty who participated in the Teaching Partners experiment earlier this semester. You will be active participants in the discussion. The event will culminate with a light buffet supper to celebrate the commitment of UMM faculty to provide exceptional learning opportunities for our students.You must not miss this event! Think of it - a salient theme, a chance to hear our Dean speak to our instructional mission, stimulating conversation with colleagues, excellent food and drink, and, oh yes, door prizes.  Five registrants will receive instructive door prizes [you must be present to win]. In light of the date of the event we can expect some foolishness [i.e., fun] to enter our discussion, but the promise of these activities is no joke.Oh yes, you do need to register to attend the event. No registration fee, but simply a reply to Bert Ahern at the Faculty Center ( by this Monday, March 25, will suffice. Sign up immediately and persuade at least one colleague to come with you.The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of Minnesota and the Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs at UMM join the UMM Academy of Distinguished Teachers in sponsoring this event.

The Planning Committee includes UMM Academy members Bert Ahern (history), Jim Cotter (geology), Van Gooch (biology) Jenny Nellis (studio art), Peh Ng (mathematics), and Engin Sungur (statistics)