University of Minnesota, Morris
Campus Assembly Meeting

April 8, 2003

The Campus Assembly met on Tuesday, April 7, 2003 at 4:30 p.m. in the Science Auditorium.  There was some variation in the order of agenda items to facilitate election voting.

I.   Elections

Elections were held for the 2003-2004 Executive Committee, Parliamentarian, and Consultative Committee.

Executive Committee (1 year term, no limitations on terms)
Vice Chair - Nancy Carpenter
Secretary - Keith Brugger
Faculty/P&A - Paula O'Loughlin
Faculty/P&A - LeAnn Dean
USA representative and student elections are pending

Parliamentarian (1 year term, no limitations on terms)
Roland Guyotte

Consultative Committee
The election for Consultative Committee replacements was postponed until the next Assembly meeting because there was some confusion regarding who is eligible to vote.

II.   Chancellor's Remarks

Chancellor Schuman asked Lowell Rasmussen to give an update on the Budget Task Force.  Rasmussen reported that the Budget Task Force has been meeting to establish a process to deal with the planned reduction of the UMM campus budgets for both FY04 and FY05.  This will be a process that needs to have wide input and well thought out plans to ensure that we will continue to provide the best possible educational experience for students, and strive to maintain a quality work environment for our employees.   The final recommendation will be submitted to the Chancellor by May 2.

The Chancellor's first charge to the committee is:

  Develop a strategic plan to communicate and consult with the campus community on our budget-related issues.
  In FY04 identify $750,000 in recurring reductions in spending that can be implemented by July 1, 2003.  This is 3% of the campus base budget.
  In FY05 identify an additional $750,000 in recurring reductions that can be identified by July 1, 2003 and implemented
     on July 1, 2004.  This is 3% of the campus base budget.

In each year, $250,000 of the reduction will be held until the campus knows the actual reduction amounts.  If the reduction does not require the use of the $250,000 it will be considered for internal reallocations.

His second charge to the task force is:

  Protect the integrity of the liberal arts undergraduate student experience both inside and outside the classroom.
  Maintain adequate infrastructure to support the mission.

The members of the Budget Task Force include:

Lowell Rasmussen - Chair
Jim VanAlstine - Chair of the CRPC
Leann Dean - CRPC
Ken Crandall - CRPC
Bart Finzel - Chair of the Consultative Committee
Engin Sungur - Consultative
Brenda Boever - Consultative (USA)
Jenny Nellis - Admin Group (Division Chair)
John Bowers - Admin Group
Fritz Schwaller - VCs
Sandy Olson-Loy - VCs
Kevin Vogeltanz - MCSA
Danielle Stuard - Student
Gary Strei (ex officio committee staff)
Nancy Erdahl (staff support to the committee)

Meeting summaries and discussion topics of the task force are located at:  It will require you to use your X.500 I.D. and is accessible by all current UMM faculty, staff, and students.

III.   Minutes from March 18, 2003 assembly were approved as presented.

IV.   From the Curriculum Committee.  The following Fall 2003 curricular changes were approved.

Division of Humanities
Russian - 4 New Courses
Russian 1993, 2993, 3993, 4993 Directed Study

Division of the Social Sciences
History - 1 new course
Hist 3461 Variable Topics in U.S. History:  Lewis and Clark:  Journey to Another America

V.   For Information and discussion.   The Big Idea Task Force Program Proposal.

Schuman wanted to say very publicly that it is his expectation that should this idea go forward it would not be at the expense of other aspects of our budget and he wants to be very clear about that.  He added it's important to him and potential donors to know that if money can be found to support this idea that the campus community actually wants it.  Jen Cushman and Anna Dronzek then led a discussion about the task force progress and the revised proposal.   The primary goal of this program is provide each UMM student with the opportunity to travel together with the rest of his or her class during May of the second year, as part of a broader formative and unifying UMM experience.  The history of the program began during the 2000-2001 academic year.  Schuman then asked Cushman to prepare a feasibility report on the program idea during the summer of 2001 and presented the idea to a number of campus groups the following year.   In December 2002, Schuman organized the task force, whose charge was to develop this proposal.  The intention was to gather input from the campus community and ultimately produce a more fully formed proposal for consideration by the Campus Assembly.  In addition to resources required to staff the travel experience, there will be a full time director of the program once the program is fully implemented.  The director will be advised by a program advisory board comprised with returning small-group leaders and student representatives.  Once a region is identified, students would arrive in a home base city.  After the in-country orientation, small groups of students will travel to study sites identified by their instructor for a two-week course.  At the end of the two-week course, small groups will return to the home base for the program finale.  Accessibility for non-traditional students, students with disabilities, and students with children, will be maximized.  Participation will not be mandatory.  Kuchenruether was happy to see how this proposal has developed but was worried about the aspect of teaching a course without having been there.  Cushman thought this was a valid concern and suggested that other faculty concerned about this sign up for a site visit.  Angell questioned the accessibility issues when traveling abroad and expects accommodations outside the United States may differ from ours and she would like to make sure additional funds are secured to make sure accessibility is possible.  Bezanson expressed concern about the amount of energy something like this would take and that faculty would become too stretched.  Cushman said the results of the survey should give the task force that information.  Dronzek added that we do need look at whether or not we have the energy to do this.  Brugger wondered how this would impact existing study abroad programs.  Cushman said they hope this will help our existing study abroad program, but not serve as a substitute.

Task force members include:  Jen Cushman (chair), Jon Anderson, Tracey Anderson, Anna Dronzek, Shezwae Fleming, Sara Haugen, Bryan Herrmann, Kelsi Holland, Tom Mahoney, Maddy Maxeiner,  Tom McRoberts, Kt Schwaderer, Tim Soderberg, Victoria Twumasi, Kate VanSickle, and Melody Veenendaal.

VI.   For Information. Resolution passed by the Curriculum Committee on 2/26/03.

Classes that require scheduled and organized activity outside of the established class meeting time [field trips, discussion sessions, etc.] must be so noted in the class schedule, a notice must figure prominently in the course syllabus, and it must be announced at the beginning of the semester.  If such activities are to be a permanent aspect of the class, a notice should also appear in the course description in the catalog.

VII.  Senators' Reports


VIII.  Old Business


IX.   New Business


Adjourned at 6:00 p.m.