University of Minnesota Morris
Take a Virtual Campus Tour Schedule a Visit Request Info

American Indian Advisory Committee

  • AIAC participants
  • AIAC participants

The American Indian Advisory Committee (AIAC) is currently comprised of 13 members. Nine of these members represent non-University of Minnesota, Morris communities and entities, and four are Morris campus American Indian students. The community members represent American Indian offices; tribal offices and communities; and/or secondary, elementary, and college institutions. This committee usually meets two–three times during the academic year and serves in an advisory capacity to the campus administration in regard to American Indian student educational opportunities. Members of this committee meet with administrators, faculty, students, and other professional staff in assessing the needs of the American Indian students at Morris.

This committee discusses and addresses the social, cultural, academic, and financial needs of the Indian students. For example, the committee has been instrumental in approving several Salt Springs Awards, which are given out on University of Minnesota, Morris Honors Day. They have also approved funding for the initiation of Ojibwe and Dakota language classes; the purchase of a computer for Indian student use; the giving of supplemental money for the Circle of Nations Indian Association’s annual powwow, among other things. Continued emphasis on the hiring of American Indian faculty and ensuring that the University honors its historical commitment to American Indian students are just some of the committee’s other areas of involvement.

American Indian Advisory Committee

Merlin Williams, Sr., AIAC Chair

Joe Bendickson

Dakota Language Instructor
University of Minnesota

Kathy Denman-Wilke, Director

Department of Indian Work 

Heather Larsen

Academic Counselor Trio—Student Support Services
Sisseton Wahpeton College

Leslie Harper

Niigaane Immersion School

Joan LaVoy, Director of Education

White Earth Reservation Tribal Council
White Earth, Minnesota

Jeanne McDougall

Teresa Peterson

University of Minnesota, Morris

Jennifer Simon, Director

Director, American Indian Student Services
Augsburg College