University of Minnesota Morris
Home » Grants Development Office » Eight Morris Faculty Members Receive Grant-in-Aid Awards

Grants Development Office News

Eight Morris Faculty Members Receive Grant-in-Aid Awards

Posted by Jenna Ray on Tuesday, Jun. 18, 2013

Eight University of Minnesota, Morris faculty members received awards in the spring grant round of the University of Minnesota Grant-in-Aid of Research, Artistry and Scholarship Program. Administered through the Office of the Vice President for Research, Grant-in-Aid Program (GIA) funds are awarded in the belief that the quality of faculty research and artistic endeavors is a major determinant of the overall vitality of the institution. The grants are not meant to provide sole support for research activities rather, they are intended to act as seed money for developing projects.

Morris campus recipients and projects:

Sheri Breen, assistant professor of political science, The Ownership of Seeds: A Political Analysis of Seed Sovereignty

Stephen Crabtree, assistant professor of geology, A Mapping and Thermodynamic Study of Magmas forming the Continental Crust

Michael Lackey, associate professor of English, The American Biographical Novel

Jessica Larson, professor of studio art, Being Dick-ish with Jane: Textual Landmines and Backlash Shenanigans in “Postfeminist” America

Ted Pappenfus, associate professor of chemistry, and Nancy Carpenter, professor of chemistry, Gas Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry for Use in Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biology

Jennifer Rothchild, associate professor of sociology, Sandeep Has Four Mommies: Life Histories of Women Caretakers in Nepali Orphanages

Dennis Stewart, associate professor of psychology, Self-Reference Effect and Group-Reference Effect in Brand Recall

James Wojtaszek, associate professor of Spanish, The Galician Revival: Women, Emigration and Cross-Cultural Connections

Additional information on the Grant-in-Aid of Research, Artistry & Scholarship Program can be found online.