University of Minnesota Morris
Home » Library » Briggs Library Associates Collection Enhancement Grant Winners

Library News

Briggs Library Associates Collection Enhancement Grant Winners

Posted by Peter Bremer on Thursday, Apr. 18, 2013

The Briggs Library Associates held their Annual Meeting on Wednesday, April 18th. One of the highlights of the evening was the announcement of the 2013 Collection Enhancement Grant Award winners. A wide variety of subjects were represented.

Biofuels- submitted by Jim Barbour
Golden Legend- submitted by Lisa Bevevino
Latin America- submitted by Tom Genova
Marijuana- submitted by NORML
Natural Living- submitted by Kaitlyn Macheledt and Rachel Blais
Piano Study- submitted by Ann DuHamel
Rugby- submitted by the UMM Men's Rugby Team
TREC Bilingual books- submitted by Maia Dalager and Argie Manolis

The 2013-2014 Briggs Library Associates Board of Directors election was also held. Alisande Allaben was elected President. Brad Gerdes was elected Vice-President. Jim Togeas was elected Secretary, and Julia Dabbs and Michael O' Reilly were elected to the At-Large positions.

The highlight of the proceedings was a special lecture entitled "A History of History in the Liberal Arts" by Dr. Jennifer Deane, Associate Professor of History at UMM. In her talk, Dr. Deane traced the history of the liberal arts from its early beginnings in ancient Greece, through Roma times and Medieval Europe to the Renaissance Humanists. It was during the Renaissance that the study of history shifted from simple storytelling into a more rigorous intellectual exercise that didn't simply rely on tradition. Dr. DEane will continue to invgestigate her topic in the coming year as a UMM Founders Scholar recipient.