University of Minnesota Morris
Home » Library » Prairie Gate Literary Festival

Library News

Prairie Gate Literary Festival

Posted by Peter Bremer on Wednesday, Mar. 12, 2014

What do two fiction writers, a memoirist, a poet, and a pair of filmmakers have in common? They're all guest artists at the fourth annual Prairie Gate Literary Festival on March 28-29 at the University of Minnesota, Morris.

This year features Pulitzer Prize finalist & novelist Joanna Scott, as well as fiction writer Debra Monroe, nonfiction and memoirist Rachael Hanel, poet Mart Hart, and filmmakers Jake Lloyd and Anthony Wayne. A slate of public readings and writing workshops will be offered.

  • Joanna Scott is the author of nine books of fiction, including The Manikin which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in 2002.

  • Rachel Henel is the author of more than 20 non-fiction books for children. Her most recent work is the memoir We'll Be the Last Ones to Let You Down: Memoir of a Gravedigger's Daughter.

  • Debra Monroe is a short story writer and novelist. Her newest work is a memoir titled On the Outskirts of Normal: Forging a Family Against the Grain.

  • Matt Hart is a poet. His most recent collection is called Sermons and Lectures Both Blank and Relentless.

  • Jake Lloyd and Anthony Wayne are actors and filmmakers. Their most recent short film is The Skull Rosary of Frao' Ranggoh.

For more information please visit Prairie Gate Literary Festival.

The mission of the festival is to provide the University of Minnesota, Morris and Lake Region of Minnesota unique opportunities to learn from and interact with published writers and other professionals in the field of literary arts.

The Prairie Gate Literary Festival is funded by Friends of the Prairie Gate Literary Festival, Briggs Library, Briggs Library Associates, the UMM English Discipline, Friends of the Morris Public Library, the International Programs Committee, the UMM Division of Humanities, the UMM Alumni Association, the Imagine Fund, and the Office of the Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs.