University of Minnesota Morris
Home » Library » Assessment in Action

Library News

Assessment in Action

Posted by Peter Bremer on Tuesday, May. 27, 2014

Briggs Library is one of 73 institutions selected to take part in the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) Assessment in Action program.

Each participating library was tasked with creating a team composed of at least one librarian and two additional campus members. Briggs Library's team is made up of team leader and Instruction Coordinator Kellie Meehlhause, Assistant Library Director Jayne Blodgett, English faculty member Tisha Turk, Executive Assistant Nancy Helsper, and political science faculty member Roger Rose.

Briggs Library's assessment goal is to establish an assessment model for comparing and analyzing information literacy skills in three sophomore/junior-level courses: BIOL 3700: Biological Communication I, POL 2001: Political Science Research Methods, and PSY 2001 Research Methods in Psychology. Results from this project will be used to improve the quality of Briggs’ library instruction program for both the courses directly involved in the study and other lower-level classes.

"We're hoping that what we learn from the program can be expanded to other areas of the library," Meehlhause said.

Currently, Writing for the Liberal Arts (WLA) students are required to attend two Briggs Library information literacy sessions. Of particular interest to the assessment team is the level of students’ retention and use of information literacy skills as they progress through UMM. Specifically, how does their library instruction experience in WLA affect their ability to think critically and conduct in-depth scholarly research in their major’s upper-level classes?

Each institutional team will submit a final report and each librarian team leader will prepare and deliver a poster at the 2015 ALA Annual Conference.

The Assessment in Action program is made possible by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and carried out in partnership with the Association for Institutional Research and the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities. The teams, representing all types of institutions, come from 34 states and 1 Canadian province.