University of Minnesota Morris
Home » Library » Policies


Briggs Library Cards

Students, faculty, and staff must use their U-Cards to check out library materials. In the case of loss or theft of this card, replacements may be obtained at the U-Card office in Behmler Hall. Community residents may obtain a Briggs Library card by completing a registration form at the circulation desk. The signature of a parent or guardian is required for community borrowers under the age of 18. All patrons are responsible for items checked out to their unique bar code unless the library is notified of the theft or loss of the card.

Loan information

Materials Students Faculty & Staff Community Residents
General Collection 13 weeks 13 weeks 6 weeks
Music Scores 13 weeks 13 weeks 6 weeks
Poetry (McGinnis) 13 weeks 13 weeks 6 weeks
Music CDs 13 weeks 13 weeks 6 weeks
Faculty Center 13 weeks 13 weeks 6 weeks
Best Sellers 4 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks
Children’s Literature/TREC 2 weeks 2 weeks 2 weeks
Teacher Education 2 weeks 2 weeks 2 weeks
DVDs & VHS 1 week 1 week 1 week
Career Center 3 days 3 days 3 days
Course Reserve (short) 3 hours 3 hours 3 hours
Course Reserve (long) 1 day 1 day 1 day

Checking out and returning materials

Materials are checked out at the circulation desk on the main floor of the library. At this service point, materials can also be renewed and returned. Students, faculty and staff need to present a valid U-Card in order to check out any materials, including course reserve and items requested through the interlibrary loan service. No materials will be checked out unless a valid U-Card or a library generated community card is present. Borrowers with outstanding overdue materials or unpaid fines of $10 or more will not be permitted to check out materials.

Return materials to the circulation desk whenever the library is open. There is also a metal book return outside the main door to the library that may be utilized when the library is closed. It is especially important not to return course reserve materials in the book return when the library is open. Fines may accrue on these hourly loans because the drop return is not regularly checked during the day when the library is open.

Renewing materials

All library users who are affiliated with the University of Minnesota and are issued U-Cards may renew their library materials by logging onto “My Account” and checking the summary page, which lists loans, requests, fines and fees, blocks and messages and personal settings. UMM affiliated library users can choose to renew all loans or renew selected items by checking the appropriate boxes next to the titles. New due dates will appear. If another patron has recalled an item or the maximum renewal time has been reached, the renewal will not be successful. Renewal of interlibrary loan items must be done by contacting the Briggs' Interlibrary Loan Manager.

Students may renew items up to a maximum of 6 months. Faculty and Staff may renew items up to a maximum of 24 months. Community borrowers may renew items up to a maximum of 3 months.

Items may be brought in to the library and personally renewed as well. Community patrons with a Briggs Library generated paper library card may renew items by bringing them into the library or by using Request Renewals Online on the Briggs Library website. New due date information will be sent via e-mail.

Late return and lost materials policies

Materials that are not returned by the due date result in the accrual of fines. The policies developed and affirmed by Campus Assembly committees are changed as of January, 2014 as part of the migration to a new system wide University of Minnesota library automation system. The policy provides for the following fees that apply to students and community borrowers:

  • $.50 per day per item with a maximum of $15 per item.
  • $ 1.00 per hour per reserve item with a maximum of $15 per item.
  • $ 1.00 per day for recalled items
  • Maximum fine of $75 for all materials checked out to one person and due on the same day
  • 9 day grace period after the due date during which no fines are charged. If the items is not returned within nine days, fines accrue starting with the due date.
  • Days that the library is closed are not considered in fine accrual.
  • Anyone with overdue items or unpaid fines in excess of $10 will be denied borrowing privileges.
  • Administrative holds on grades, transcripts and registration are applied for students with overdue materials or outstanding fines.
  • An item is declared lost after having an overdue status for at least 30 days. At that time, a bill is generated listing the replacement value of the item along with a $15 reprocessing fee. Fines are not charged when replacement and reprocessing fees are paid.
  • For questions and concerns, see LeAnn Dean, 320-589-6226.


Briggs Library adheres to the state and national laws and guidelines concerning the right of privacy of library borrowers as to materials used and checked out. Library personnel will not divulge borrowing information other than giving the date due for an item.