University of Minnesota Morris
Home » News & Events » Faculty and Staff retirees and award recipients honored at Recognition Dinner

Morris Campus News and Events

Faculty and Staff retirees and award recipients honored at Recognition Dinner

Posted by Judy Korn on Monday, May. 3, 2010

The annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Dinner was held at the University of Minnesota, Morris on April 29, 2010. The event provides the campus an opportunity to congratulate 2010 award recipients and thank faculty and staff retirees for their service to the Morris campus.

Chancellor Jacqueline Johnson hosted the event, and she began the evening by announcing that Stephen Granger, retired assistant provost, and Bert Ahern, professor of history and American Indian studies, received the University of Minnesota President's Award for Outstanding Service recognizing exceptional commitment to the University community.

Six retirees were honored: Bert Ahern, professor of history and American Indian studies, Van Gooch, professor of biology, Art Kunde, building and grounds worker, Ron Kussatz, building and grounds worker, Tom McRoberts ’68, director, Center for Small Towns, Center for International Programs, and Continuing Education, Regional Programs, and Summer Session, and Tom Swenson, building and grounds worker.

Gwen L. Rudney, professor of education and Division of Education chair, received the all-University Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education. Michelle Page, associate professor of education, received the University of Minnesota, Morris Alumni Association Teaching Award Recipient.

The Mary Martelle Memorial Award is given each year to a staff member and a student who exemplify the late Office of Student Activities senior secretary’s outstanding commitment and contribution to the campus. This year’s recipients are Laura Thielke ’95, executive accounts specialist, and student Donovan Hanson ’10, Ada.

Three members of the campus community received Outstanding Staff Awards: Ginger Nohl, executive operations/student services specialist, representing AFSCME, Dorothy DeJager, executive assistant, representing Civil Service, and Jerome Danelke, buildings and grounds worker, representing Teamsters. Dave Aronson, project manager, received the Morris Academic Staff Award.

University of Minnesota Outstanding Service Award photo from left:

Steve Granger and Bert Ahern

Faculty and staff honorees photo from left:

Michelle Page, Tom Swenson, Dorothy DeJager, Jerry Danelke, Gwen Rudney, Bert Ahern, Van Gooch, Ginger Nohl, Art Kunde, Laura Thielke. Not pictured: Tom McRoberts, Dave Aronson, and Ron Kussatz