University of Minnesota Morris
Home » News & Events » Student Leadership Recognition Dinner Banquet celebrates an engaged community

Morris Campus News and Events

Student Leadership Recognition Dinner Banquet celebrates an engaged community

Posted by Judy Korn on Monday, May. 10, 2010

The annual Student Leader Recognition Banquet was held on Wednesday, April 29, 2010. The end-of-the-year celebration honors Morris student leaders for their dedication and commitment to the University of Minnesota, Morris, as well as recognizes faculty and staff who support Morris student leaders and organizations.

Student awards
Outstanding Student Leadership Awards were presented to Adam Olson, Danielle Schatschneider, Ashley Gaschk, Jenna Sandoe, and Sydney Sweep.

Olson was noted for his tireless spirit and passion for student governance and for serving as a driving force behind increased student activism. He has helped others grow into the future leaders—in the Morris Campus Student Association and beyond.

Schatschneider, a Peer Health Educators and a founding student leader in the Morris Healthy Eating initiative, was described as a role model for keeping the Morris campus a safe and healthy place.

Gaschk leadership with MPIRG and student government as well as her green contributions in the BikeShare program created by the Class of 2010 senior legacy project was applauded.

Sandoe’s leadership in the area of sustainability was commended—from work with MPIRG hosting a campus Bigstone 2 demonstrations to a growing vision for student organic gardening, and Morris farmers markets.

Sweep was praised for her engaged student life, from creating organizations from “scratch” and carefully allocating student activity fee dollars, to the effective operation of the Information Center and UMM’s first Green Corp.

Organization awards
The Saddle Club and Meiningens received 2010 Outstanding Student Organization Awards. The Saddle Club was congratulated for increasing membership and for their community outreach efforts, including a yearly clinic and fundraising for the local food shelf. Meiningens members were also recognized for “giving back” to the community with events and donations that described as “great energy, abundant creativity, and great attendance.”

Faculty/staff awards
Three members of the campus community received 2010 Faculty/Staff Awards for Outstanding Support of UMM Student Leadership: Jayne Blodgett, Rodney A. Briggs Library Bridget Joos, Violence Prevention Program coordinator and David Swenson, director of Student Activities, Conferences, and Special Events.

Blodgett was recognized for her support of the Morris Campus Student Association and steadfastly serving students “as a mentor, adviser, editor, and overall sympathetic human being.”

Joos works directly with students as a resource, an advocate, and an internship supervisor. She is noted as a talented and empowering trainer of Community Advisers and Gateway Mentors, a talented coordinator and partner with students presenting College Challenges and Take Back the Night programs, and a great adviser and support to student leaders in Peer Health Educators and Men of Morris.

Swenson’s “unwavering dedication” to students was recognized and his ability to help students “dream big.” His creative partnerships were identified as key contributions to the success of campus programs like New Student Orientation, the growth of now classic UMM events like the UMMys and the spectacle that is Zombie Prom, and the creation of new programs like the new convenience store.

Photo from left: Temi Odunusi, student, David Swenson, director of Student Activities, Conferences, and Special Events, and Erin Christensen, program associate, Office of Alumni Relations and Annual GIving