University of Minnesota Morris
Home » News & Events » Computer science student team takes first at Digi-Key competition

Morris Campus News and Events

Computer science student team takes first at Digi-Key competition

Posted by Judy Korn on Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2010

University of Minnesota, Morris teams placed first and sixth overall out of sixteen teams at the 2010 Digi-Key Collegiate Computing Competition. Team Reptilian Agenda earned a commanding first place overall, scoring more than 300 total points, more than 60 points over the second place team. The team is comprised of seniors Eugene Butler, Brookings, South Dakota, Brian Goslinga, Princeton, Justin Mullin, Eden Prairie, and Chad Seibert, Wadena. The four students each received $300 gift certificates. The Morris computer science discipline will host the bronze traveling trophy for the next year and receive a $5,000 award to support computer science activities such as student travel to conferences and special lab purchases.

Morris’s second team, Magical Flying Carp, competed successfully in the “Benders,” speed and trivia competitions, taking first and second respectively. The team is comprised of juniors Stephen Adams, International Falls, Brandon Botzet, Fairmont, Phil Coler, Montevideo, and Jay Lapham, Lakeville.

Morris teams have earned first place at Digi-Key three times in the past five years, tying the University of North Dakota for the most wins since Digi-Key started the competition in 2000. Reptilian Agenda is the eighth team to place in the top three since Morris was first invited in 2002.

The event sponsor, Digi-Key, is an international distributor of electronic components serving a broad range of industries including automotive, communications, energy/renewable energy, industrial, medical equipment, transportation, military/aerospace, and research and development. The corporation is located in Thief River Falls.

Team Reptilian Agenda from left: Chad Seibert, Justin Mullin, Brian Goslinga, Nic McPhee, professor of computer science and coach, and Eugene Butler

Magical Flying Carp from left: Phil Coler, Jay Lapham, Stephen Adams, and Brandon Botzet