University of Minnesota Morris
Home » News & Events » Morris theatre students excel at regional theatre festival

Morris Campus News and Events

Morris theatre students excel at regional theatre festival

Posted by Judy Korn on Monday, Feb. 21, 2011

University of Minnesota, Morris theatre students and Ray Schultz, associate professor of theatre, attended the Region Five Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF). Festival participants celebrate the creative process see one another’s work, and share experiences and insights within a community of theater artists. The KCACTF honors excellence of overall production and offers student artists’ individual recognition through awards and scholarships in playwriting, acting, criticism, directing, and design.

Morris actors were chosen to participate in the festival’s Costume Parade, one of only a dozen productions in Region Five—Minnesota, South Dakota, North Dakota, Iowa, Kansas, Iowa, and Nebraska—to be invited. The students modeled costumes designed by Jess Larson, Morris associate professor of studio art, for As You Like It, a 2010 “environmentally friendly” production featuring costumes made from recycled and repurposed materials.

Schultz shares that the parade’s “packed house” especially appreciated the Corin and Touchstone tea bag and zipper costumes. “Congratulations to Jess Larson, Liz Spohr, costume shop coordinator, and all the students who worked on the design and execution of the costumes,” he states, “and to Craig Sandberg ’12, Alexandria, who received a Certificate of Merit for his musical composition and direction for As You Like It.”

Lynn Bixler ’12, Brooklyn Park, and Alex McGreavey ’11, Maple Grove, were nominated for the Irene Ryan Acting Award.

Festival participants who attended workshops, competition sessions, and performances included Alex McGreavey ’11, theatre arts, English, and performance art, Maple Grove Lynn Bixler ’12, theatre and English, Brooklyn Park Kari Stevermer ’12, theatre, Marshall Jessie Sherman ’12, theatre and English, Bozeman, Montana Allyce Amidon’12, theatre and English, Falcon Heights Collin Ireland ’13, theatre, Rockford Brittany Ottum ’12, theatre and English, Eden Prairie Luke Granholm ’12, theatre, Arden Hills Sam Krump-Johnson ’11, theatre and mass media and production, Maple Grove Alek Sievert ’12, theatre and English, Burnsville Kelly Gustavsson ’11, theatre, Hibbing Clara Costello ’11, German and theatre, Afton and recent graduate Gretchen Retka ’10, music and theatre, Fort Ripley.