University of Minnesota Morris
Home » News & Events » Kim Receives Faculty Distinguished Research Award

Morris Campus News and Events

Kim Receives Faculty Distinguished Research Award

Posted by Jenna Ray on Wednesday, Apr. 3, 2013

Jong-Min Kim, professor of statistics, has been awarded the University of Minnesota, Morris Faculty Distinguished Research Award. Established in 2000, the award recognizes sustained research/artistic productivity of a Morris faculty member over the course of a career. Kim is the fourteenth Morris faculty member to receive the Faculty Distinguished Research Award.

The author of numerous articles, Kim has served as an editor for three statistics journals simultaneously and as a reviewer for dozens of manuscripts. He has twice been included in Who’s Who in America and was elected to the International Statistical Institute in October 2005. Kim is affiliated with the American Statistical Association (ASA), the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS), the International Biometric Society (ENAR), the Korean Statistical Society (KSS), the Bernoulli Society (BS), the Classification Society of North America (CSNA), and the Korean International Statistical Society. In 2002 Kim received the Carl E. Marshall Award from the Department of Statistics at Oklahoma State University.

Kim received a BS from Cheongju University, South Korea in 1994 as well as a MS from Chung-Ang University, South Korea in 1996. He completed a PhD in statistics at Oklahoma State University in May 2002 and joined the faculty at Morris in August of that year. His areas of expertise include statistical genetics, sample survey methods, and cluster analysis.

“[Kim]'s research has garnered a national reputation with a high level of output sustained over many years across multiple areas of statistics,” says Bart Finzel, vice chancellor for academic affairs and dean. “His recognition is well-deserved.”

Previous recipients include Ted Pappenfus, chemistry, Neil Leroux, communication, media, and rhetoric, David P. Roberts, mathematics, Seung-Ho Joo, political science, Cyrus Bina, management, Vicente Cabrera, Spanish, Ishtiyaque Haji, philosophy, Vasilikie Demos, sociology, Eric Klinger, psychology, Harold Hinds, history, Dwight Purdy, English, David Hoppe, biology, James Cotter, geology, and James Carlson, music.