University of Minnesota Morris
Home » News & Events » Burks Receives Faculty Distinguished Research Award

Morris Campus News and Events

Burks Receives Faculty Distinguished Research Award

Posted by Jenna Ray on Monday, Mar. 24, 2014

Stephen Burks, associate professor of economics and management, has received the University of Minnesota, Morris Faculty Distinguished Research Award. Established in 2000, the award recognizes sustained research/artistic productivity of a Morris faculty member over the course of a career.

Burks has made many contributions to the fields of experimental and behavioral economics and the economics of the United States trucking industry. His work has appeared in Management Science, the Review of Economic Studies, Experimental Economics, Proceedings of the National Academy of Science (USA), the Industrial and Labor Relations Review, Accident Analysis and Prevention, the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, Research in Experimental Economics, Research in Transportation Economics, and more.

Burks perhaps is best known in his field as the leader of the “Truckers and Turnover Project.” This multi-year study in the field of behavioral personnel economics is conducted by a team of Morris faculty and students as well as faculty from other institutions, in cooperation with a large motor carrier. It implements Burks’s idea that economists doing behavioral economic field experiments should work with industry studies specialists who gather new data and do targeted analyses of individual industries.

Burks holds a bachelor of arts from Reed College, masters of arts from Indiana University and the University of Massachusetts, and a doctor of philosophy from the University of Massachusetts. He is affiliated with the Institute for the Study of Labor in Bonn, Germany, the Center for Transportation Studies at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, the Center for Decision Research and Experimental Economics at the University of Nottingham, and the Trucking Industry Program at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He is chair of the standing technical committee AT060 Trucking Industry Research at the Transportation Research Board, a division of the National Research Council.

“Burks’s research has garnered a national reputation with a high level of output sustained over many years across multiple areas of economics, and is of interest to non-economists as well,” says Bart Finzel, vice chancellor for academic affairs and dean. “His recognition is well-deserved.”

Burks is the sixteenth Morris faculty member to receive the Faculty Distinguished Research Award. Previous recipients include Jong-Min Kim, statistics, Ted Pappenfus, chemistry, Neil Leroux, communication, media, and rhetoric, David P. Roberts, mathematics, Seung-Ho Joo, political science, Cyrus Bina, management, Vicente Cabrera, Spanish, Ishtiyaque Haji, philosophy, Vasilikie Demos, sociology, Eric Klinger, psychology, Harold Hinds, history, Dwight Purdy, English, David Hoppe, biology, James Cotter, geology, and James Carlson, music.