University of Minnesota Morris
Home » News & Events » U Board of Regents will visit Morris

Morris Campus News and Events

U Board of Regents will visit Morris

Posted by Judy Riley on Friday, Sep. 28, 2007

Event Date/Time: Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2007
End Date/Time: Friday, Oct. 12, 2007
Location: UMM campus

The University of Minnesota, Morris and the Morris area community will welcome the University of Minnesota Board of Regents and University President Robert Bruininks October 10-12. The regents will hold their October monthly meeting on the Morris campus.

The public is invited to a Community Coffee with President Bruininks from 7:30 to 8:30 a.m. Thursday, Oct. 11, at the Common Cup Coffeehouse in downtown Morris.

In addition to their meeting agenda, regents will meet UMM students, faculty and staff and tour the campus.

The 12-member Board of Regents is the governing body of the University of Minnesota. The legislature elects one regent from each of Minnesota’s eight congressional districts and four from the state at large.

One of the four at-large regents must be a University student at the time of election. Regents serve without pay for six-year terms. The president of the University is ex officio president of the Board. The Board meets monthly (except for January and August) on the second Friday and the preceding Thursday. Although regents meetings are open to the public, they have pre-set agendas and visitors will not be invited or allowed to speak.

Current members of the Board of Regents are Patricia Simmons (chair), Clyde Allen (vice chair), Anthony Baraga, Dallas Bohnsack, Maureen Cisneros, Linda Cohen, John Frobenius, Venora Hung, Steven Hunter, Dean Johnson, David Larson and David Metzen.