University of Minnesota Morris


Academic Affairs Home

UMM Home > Academic Affairs > INDEX of Resources > Faculty Distinguished Research Awards

UMM Faculty Distinguished Research Award

The Award, established in 2000, recognizes sustained research and/or artistic productivity of a UMM faculty member over the course of a career.


The UMM Faculty Distinguished Research Award consists of a single course replacement if feasible, or a cash award of $1,500 plus $500 to the discipline of the awardee, or an equivalent package to be negotiated with the Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean.   An individual may win this award only once.


For information on nominations, procedures and deadlines, contact the UMM Faculty Center for Learning and Teaching or Dean's Office.



1999-00             Eric Klinger, Psychology

                           Harold Hinds, History

                           Dwight Purdy, English

                           David Hoppe, Biology

                           James Cotter, Geology

                           James Carlson, Music

2000-01              Vasilikie Demos, Sociology

2001-02              Ishtiyaque Haji, Philosophy

2002-03              Vicente Cabrera, Spanish

2003-04              Cyrus Bina, Economics/Management

2004-05              Seung-Ho Joo, Political Science

2005-06              None awarded

2006-07              David P. Roberts, Mathematics