Take a Virtual Campus Tour Schedule a Visit Request Info

Weekly Bulletin Archive


Janet Schrunk Ericksen, associate professor of English, is the 2006 recipient of the UMM Alumni Association Teaching Award. Janet has been at UMM since 2001. In addition to her teaching and research, she serves as discipline coordinator of English, and has been the assistant chair of the Humanities Division this year. Thanks to the generosity of the UMM Alumni Association, the Morris campus recognizes its outstanding professors through the UMM Alumni Association Teaching Award, an annual award created by the alumni in 1994. The purpose of the award is to honor individual UMM faculty members for their outstanding contributions to undergraduate education.

The campus community is invited to attend a Farewell Picnic for Sam and Nancy Schuman on Monday, May 1, from 4:30 - 6:30 p.m. This picnic-style event is sponsored by MCSA and the Office of Special Events. A short program will be held on the berm, with the time to be determined. The back-up site is Oyate Hall. All faculty, staff and students are cordially invited to attend. Please mark your calendars now!


Stephen V. Burks, economics and management, presented the first working paper from his sabbatical research work, the "Truckers & Turnover Project," titled "The Impact of Tenure, Experience, and Type of Work on the Turnover of Newly Hired Drivers at a Large Truckload Motor Carrier," co-authored with Kay Saager (UMM alum) and Adam Durand (UMM intern), on February 1 in Long Beach, Calif., at the National Urban Freight Conference. The Conference URL is: http://www.metrans.org/nuf/index.html
The first paper from "Velo-Productivity," Burks' project on bicycle messengers with Jeff Carpenter of Middlebury College, and Lorenz Goette of the University of Zürich, titled "Performance Pay and the Erosion of Worker Cooperation: Field Experimental Evidence," is now on the Web as Discussion Paper #2013, at the Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA), Bonn. The IZA website is at: www.iza.org The paper is linked at: ftp://ftp.iza.org/dps/dp2013.pdf

[Asian American Press 3/18/06] UMM and World Touch Cultural Heritage Week is mentioned.

[Minnesota Monthly April 2006] UMM is mentioned in "Better Together in Rural Minnesota," a story about the upcoming Symposium on Small Towns. UMM is mentioned as founding partner of Pride of the Prairie local foods initiative in a Special Advertising Section on "Living Green 365."

[U of M news Web site] A story written by first-year UMM University Relations student news writer Theresa Novak appeared on the Twin Cities campus UMNnews Web site at http://www1.umn.edu/twincities/index.php. The story featured Sue Gooch and the "Prairie Yard and Garden" program, which is produced by UMM's Media Services.


The next Chancellor's Open Office hour is Friday, March 31, at 2 p.m. All members of the UMM campus community are welcome to drop in to discuss topics which can be addressed in a short visit. Please note: These hours are subject to change. It is recommended that you check out the Web site: http://www.morris.umn.edu/academic/chancellor/OfficeHours.html the day you plan to drop in on the Chancellor or call his office at ext. 6020.

The Faculty Culture Task Force will hold an open forum for all interested faculty, staff, and students on Tuesday, April 11, 9-11 a.m. in ITV location, HFA #7. Members of the task force will seek feedback on draft recommendations that will be released in late March, as well as any other feedback or ideas participants wish to share. For more information, contact Karen Zentner Bacig at kbacig@umn.edu.


Gieske Academic Award: The Political Science Discipline is accepting applications for the Gieske Academic Award for the 2005-06 academic year. The Gieske Academic Award is offered annually to an outstanding political science major in their senior year. Recipients will have an exceptional record of accomplishment at UMM as well as strong prospects for success after graduation. The recipient of the Gieske Academic Award will be recognized at the Student Honors and Awards Ceremony in May 2006. Applications should be picked up and returned to the Social Science Division Office in Camden Hall. Completed applications are due Friday, March 31, by 4:30 p.m. in the Social Science Division Office.

Gieske Internship Award: The Political Science Discipline is accepting applications for the Gieske Internship Award for this academic year. The Gieske Internship Award is offered annually to an outstanding political science major in their junior or sophomore years. Recipients must complete an internship in the 2006-2007 academic year and should have a strong record of accomplishment at UMM. Applications should be picked up and returned to the Social Science Division Office in Camden Hall. Completed applications are due by Friday, March 31, at 4:30 p.m. Recipients will be notified by April 10, 2006.

David Minge Public Affairs Internship Award: The Political Science Discipline is accepting applications for the Minge Internship Award for the 2006-2007 academic year. The purpose of the Award is to provide financial support for students doing internships on the federal level. Recipients must complete an internship between June 1, 2006 and June 1, 2007. You do not have to be a Political Science Major or Minor to apply all majors are eligible for this award. Preference for the award will be given to internships done for UMM credit that integrate the study of peace, justice, conservation, the environment, rural affairs, or similar issues in keeping with the value of a public liberal arts college. Completed Applications are due by Friday, March 31, at 4:30 p.m. in the Social Science Division Office in Camden Hall. Recipients will be notified by April 10, 2006.

The following scholarship application can be completed on the Web at
http://www.morris.umn.edu/financialaid/returnscholar.html or pick up the application from the Admissions and Financial Aid Office:
The 2006-2007 Gertrude Gaffney Hanlon Memorial Scholarship is awarded to UMM returning students with Irish Nationality and financial need. This scholarship is renewable to past recipients. The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is a requirement. The priority deadline to complete and submit the FAFSA for the University of Minnesota, Morris to the federal processor is by March 1. Complete the FAFSA on-line at www.fafsa.ed.gov. UMM's Federal School Code is 002389. The deadline date is April 3, 2006.

Attention Nontraditional Women and Men Students: Applications for the Carol E. Macpherson Memorial Scholarship and the University of Minnesota Alumnae Scholarship are now available. You must be 28 years of age or older, returning after a five year or longer break in education, and admitted to or enrolled in a degree-granting program at any U of M campus. Financial need is critical. Six to eight awards, ranging from $1,000 - $4,000 are awarded annually. Letters of recommendation are required. The Macpherson is open only to women the U of M Alumnae Scholarship is open to women and men. Stop by the Office of Continuing Education, 225 Community Services for an application or you may go to the Office for University Women web site at www.umn.edu/women and click on "Macpherson/Alumnae Scholarships" to bring up the application for downloading. Deadline is April 28, 2006.
For current and archived news, events, and sports, visit

For events information, visit

For student employment and opportunities, visit

For additional scholarships, visit

For Career Center information, visit

For faculty/staff employment information, visit

Weekly Bulletin is published by the Office of University Relations and sent electronically campus wide each Wednesday afternoon throughout the academic year. Submissions of items for publication are accepted by noon each Wednesday to Judy Riley at rileyjk@morris.umn.edu.