University of Minnesota, Morris

Morris, MN




February 23, 2005, 8:00 a.m. Behmler Conference Room



Present:           John Schwaller, Mike Korth, Jooinn Lee, Jenny Nellis,      Mary Elizabeth Bezanson,

                        Harold Hinds, Dave Roberts, Jeri Mullin, Ruth Thielke, Dorothy DeJager,

                        Nancy Helsper and Matt Conner.


Absent:           Judy Kuechle, Carol Marxen, Sarah Black, Blair Jasper, Joe Basel, Lee Thao,

and Sara Haugen.




The meeting was called to order and Schwaller stated that without a quorum the items on the agenda requiring vote approval would be held over until the next meeting on March 9, 2005.


EDP Subcommittee:

Schwaller stated that the call for EDP applications has been sent out with a deadline of March 25, 2005. Schwaller called for volunteers and nominations for the subcommittee. Dave Roberts volunteered and Judy Kuechle and Sarah Black were nominated.


Consistency of Term and Year offerings

Mullin explained that while cleaning up the course information for the new catalog it came to her attention that there is inconsistency in the term and year offerings for courses. The committee agreed that courses that are only taught in the summer and courses that are consistently taught in the summer are the only courses that should have a term offering listed as summer. Mullin stated there are inconsistencies throughout all courses and how term and year offerings are listed should be defined and then can be cleaned up. The members agreed and discussion will continue on this topic.


Korth noted that one of the courses on the agenda to be approved had the wrong credits listed. CSci 1101 should be listed as two credits not four. This change will be made in ECAS. Helsper noted that CSci 4455 and CSci 4456 are both part of clusters and the titles should be changed to reflect their cluster. CSci 4455 will be changed to Systems: Computer Architecture and CSci 4456 will be change to Theory: Computer Graphics.


Due to lack of a quorum and the need for students to register for classes for summer term before the next assembly meeting Chem 1001 and NSci 1061 were both provisionally approved by the Division Chair Members in attendance.


Meeting adjourned.

8:25 a.m.


Submitted by Karen Van Horn